An important part of the new upgrade is what we call “the business concept” and how it is organized. Basically there are 5 key elements.
1. Create your company in Yast
When creating a company, you create a top-level folder with your company name attached to it. At company level, you will find more functionality than under the rest of your projects and folders. You can even create several companies. If you work FOR several companies, you can be added by each company in the same user interface. You don´t have to log out and log in with another account.
2. The Company and Payment Tab
On the company level, you will find the Company Info and Payment tab. This is where you manage subscriptions, users and payments. This functionality is only accessible for company admins, meaning those who have access level “administration” (the highest access level) at the company folder.
3. Default access levels
We have made a new interface for “the sharing” tab, and we will cover this in a separate post, but because there are some default options that will affect the company, here is a summary. The person creating the company in Yast will be the only person with default “administration” (the highest) access level. Every new user added to the system will be default “worker” (lowest) access at company level. Meaning, after the upgrade, the default option is that only the administrator can see and make time reports for anyone in the company. You will have to assign higher access levels to others to make them do reports as well.
4. Company account, no user premium accounts
Trial and Payment is now linked to the company. Not the user. Meaning, if you start a trial account you start a trial for a company, not a trial for every user in the company. There are no longer premium users or trial users. A user can be present in several companies no matter if one company is in trial and another is not.
5. Your personal folder
Every user has a personal folder. This is basically the free version of Yast. Tracking time on projects in your personal folder will not affect any projects under the company folder and will not show in any of the reports done in the company. No one else has access to your personal folder, and no one ever will. It is only yours. To share a project from a personal folder, you would have to create a company then invite users to that company.